Change Password | Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In | Join
2020 Murrow Awards Judging Application
Share |

Help select the winners of the most prestigious awards in broadcast and digital news - the Murrow Awards! 

You'll get to see the best in journalism from around the country and be inspired by your peers.

Complete the form below to apply to be a judge. Even if you have judged before, help us update our prospective judge list and ensure we have your most current information.

How Judging Works

  • Regional judging will begin in early March. Teams will have five weeks to complete their judging assignments. All judging is done online and can be completed at your own pace. 
  • Two individuals make a judging team. One member of the team is the “primary judge.” This is the person who will submit the team’s selected winner and any comments.
  • In past years, judges have generally had between 20 and 30 entries to review across a number of categories. Teams reviewing longer categories (news series, news documentary, etc.) generally have fewer overall entries. 
  • It is vital to the integrity of the awards that each entry receives thoughtful, thorough consideration. The RTDNA Code of Ethics serves as the basis for judging standards. We also ask judges to ensure each winning entry meets the requirements of the category. Some category rules have changed or are new in recent years, so we want to make sure the winners have followed the rules.

Applicants selected to judge will receive an email from Kate McGarrity in late February with further instructions, including how to access the judging portal and category assignments.

Apply by February 21.


Apply Now:

Region 1 Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington
Region 2 California, Hawaii, Nevada
Region 3 Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming
Region 4 Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin
Region 5 Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska
Region 6 Oklahoma, Texas
Region 7 Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio
Region 8 Kentucky, N. Carolina, S. Carolina, Tennessee, W. Virgina
Region 9 Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi
Region 10 Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
Region 11 New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania
Region 12 Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia
Region 13 Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands

Follow Us